Linear Elastic Pushover help needed! please :) :)
Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 8:01 am
Linear Elastic Pushover help needed! please :) :)
Hi, I hope someone can help.
I trying to perform a linear elastic pushover simulation but when i run the code in OpenSees.exe it does not create the Disp.out file or the Force.out file?
I hope someone can help as i really need this simulation to work for my Dissertation.
#Define model parameter
model Basic -ndm 2 -ndf 3
# Create nodes
set L 5000.0
set H 4000.0
# node set up
node 1 0.0 0.0
node 2 $L 0.0
node 3 0.0 $H
node 4 $L $H
#Define boundary conditions
fix 1 1 1 1
fix 2 1 1 1
#DEfine geometric transformation
geomTransf Linear 1
# Create element
set E 200
set A 2.0e4
set I 2.0e9
element elasticBeamColumn 1 1 2 $A $E $I 1
element elasticBeamColumn 2 2 4 $A $E $I 1
element elasticBeamColumn 3 3 4 $A $E $I 1
# Define Gravity Loads
set P 15000
timeSeries Constant 1
pattern Plain 1 1 {
load 3 0.0 -$P 0.0
load 4 0.0 -$P 0.0
}
#Define analysis parameters
constraints Transformation
numberer RCM
algorithm Linear
system ProfileSPD
integrator LoadControl 1.0
analysis Static
#Apply gravity loads
analyze 1
#Define Lateral load profile
timeSeries Linear 2
pattern Plain 2 2 {
load 3 0.5 0.0 0.0
load 4 0.5 0.0 0.0
}
#Define recorder
recorder Node -file disp.out -time -node 3 -dof 1 disp
recorder Element -file force.out -time -eleRange 1 3 globalForces
#Rederfine integrator for pushover analysis
integrator DisplacementControl 3 1 0.1
#Run pushover analysis to 200mm in 2000steps
analyze 2000
I hope someone can help
I trying to perform a linear elastic pushover simulation but when i run the code in OpenSees.exe it does not create the Disp.out file or the Force.out file?
I hope someone can help as i really need this simulation to work for my Dissertation.
#Define model parameter
model Basic -ndm 2 -ndf 3
# Create nodes
set L 5000.0
set H 4000.0
# node set up
node 1 0.0 0.0
node 2 $L 0.0
node 3 0.0 $H
node 4 $L $H
#Define boundary conditions
fix 1 1 1 1
fix 2 1 1 1
#DEfine geometric transformation
geomTransf Linear 1
# Create element
set E 200
set A 2.0e4
set I 2.0e9
element elasticBeamColumn 1 1 2 $A $E $I 1
element elasticBeamColumn 2 2 4 $A $E $I 1
element elasticBeamColumn 3 3 4 $A $E $I 1
# Define Gravity Loads
set P 15000
timeSeries Constant 1
pattern Plain 1 1 {
load 3 0.0 -$P 0.0
load 4 0.0 -$P 0.0
}
#Define analysis parameters
constraints Transformation
numberer RCM
algorithm Linear
system ProfileSPD
integrator LoadControl 1.0
analysis Static
#Apply gravity loads
analyze 1
#Define Lateral load profile
timeSeries Linear 2
pattern Plain 2 2 {
load 3 0.5 0.0 0.0
load 4 0.5 0.0 0.0
}
#Define recorder
recorder Node -file disp.out -time -node 3 -dof 1 disp
recorder Element -file force.out -time -eleRange 1 3 globalForces
#Rederfine integrator for pushover analysis
integrator DisplacementControl 3 1 0.1
#Run pushover analysis to 200mm in 2000steps
analyze 2000
I hope someone can help
Re: Linear Elastic Pushover help needed! please :) :)
Hi
I checked your code and ran it in opensees.exe, it's completely correct and Opensees created disp.out and force.out for me.
Try another ver. of Opensees and make sure required activeTCL is installed!!!!(I used 2.5.0 ver.)
I checked your code and ran it in opensees.exe, it's completely correct and Opensees created disp.out and force.out for me.
Try another ver. of Opensees and make sure required activeTCL is installed!!!!(I used 2.5.0 ver.)
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 8:01 am
Re: Linear Elastic Pushover help needed! please :) :)
Hi, Thank-you for the quick response!
I have re-installed active TCL and checked with using puts $tcl_version and the version is up to date -8.5. I have also checked my OpenSees terminal and it is up to date using 2.5 version
When I run the file - pushover, using the source command, the only feedback I receive is the following- a single 0 ?
OpenSees > source /Users/edward/Desktop/untitled\ folder/Example/Pushover.tcl
0
I am not sure where to go from this considering the code is correct.
I have re-installed active TCL and checked with using puts $tcl_version and the version is up to date -8.5. I have also checked my OpenSees terminal and it is up to date using 2.5 version
When I run the file - pushover, using the source command, the only feedback I receive is the following- a single 0 ?
OpenSees > source /Users/edward/Desktop/untitled\ folder/Example/Pushover.tcl
0
I am not sure where to go from this considering the code is correct.
Re: Linear Elastic Pushover help needed! please :) :)
Hi
I checked it again and couldn’t see any problem.
Here is your code and output files:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9njjrpo869k6w ... d.rar?dl=0
I recommend you to copy opensees.exe to your code path then run it.(OpenSees-> source Pushover.tcl)
I checked it again and couldn’t see any problem.
Here is your code and output files:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9njjrpo869k6w ... d.rar?dl=0
I recommend you to copy opensees.exe to your code path then run it.(OpenSees-> source Pushover.tcl)
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 8:01 am
Re: Linear Elastic Pushover help needed! please
Thank-you so much for running the code and placing it in a drop-box file.
I will have to get it sorted, i have trying to install the OpenSEES.exe with the folder, but still comes up with the same problem.
I am running it on a mac, but surely, that shouldn't make a difference?
Also did you path the file after you installed it, because I have done that? and not sure if I need to?
I will have to get it sorted, i have trying to install the OpenSEES.exe with the folder, but still comes up with the same problem.
I am running it on a mac, but surely, that shouldn't make a difference?
Also did you path the file after you installed it, because I have done that? and not sure if I need to?
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 8:01 am
Re: Linear Elastic Pushover help needed! please :) :)
Hi Emrani,
Just quick Q, do you have any of the extensions installed? or just OpenSEES.exe?
Thanks a-lot
Just quick Q, do you have any of the extensions installed? or just OpenSEES.exe?
Thanks a-lot