can opensees do analysis with multiple parameter?

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
payamdindar
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:48 am
Location: SRBIAU

can opensees do analysis with multiple parameter?

Post by payamdindar »

hi friend
im modeling 2D one story one bay steel brace frame in opensees.
L is length of beam
H is Height of column
L values are 3m,3.5m,4m,4.5m,5m,5.5m,6m
H values are 2m,2.5m,3m,3.5m,4m,4.5m,5m
section of beam,columns and brace are 10 sections with different values for each elements
pushover load apply to model with 10 factor. 0.25p,0.5p,0.75p,1p,1.25p,1.5p,1.75p,2p,2.25p,2.5p
i want to do analysis one model with all above parameter values successive. for example i create one model in opensees with one parameter values.after finishing analysis opensees automatic start another analysis with the next parameter and after finishing this start another analysis with the next parameter and this process perform automatic until all parameter used in analysis.
analysis number1. L=3m H=2m , p=0.25
analysis number2. L=3.5m H=2.5m , p=0.25
analysis number3. L=3.5m H=2m , p=0.5
analysis number4. L=4m H=3m , p=1
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
analysis number99. L=6m H=4.5m , p=2.5
analysis number100. L=6m H=5m , p=2.5
can opensees do this analysis with one model?
how i assigne multiple values for length and height and so all?
thank you
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: can opensees do analysis with multiple parameter?

Post by fmk »

look at tcl foreach command, e.g. following example

model Basic -ndm 2 -ndf 3
foreach L {3.0 3.5 3.5 4.0 6.0 6.0} H {2.0 2.5 2.0 4.0 4.5 5.0} p {0.25 0.25 0.5 1.0 2.5 2.5} {
wipe
node 1 0. 0.
node 2 $L 0.
node 3 0. $H
node 4 $L $H
print node
}
payamdindar
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:48 am
Location: SRBIAU

Re: can opensees do analysis with multiple parameter?

Post by payamdindar »

thank you dear frank
bests for you
payamdindar
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:48 am
Location: SRBIAU

Re: can opensees do analysis with multiple parameter?

Post by payamdindar »

Dear Frank, I create code but dont work and more error

model BasicBuilder -ndm 2 -ndf 3
file mkdir Kbrace
foreach L {3.0 3.5 4.0 4.5 5.0 5.5 6.0} H {3.0 3.5 4.0 4.5 5.0} l {[expr 0.1*L] [expr 0.2*L] [expr 0.3*L] [expr 0.4*L] [expr 0.5*L]} h {[expr 0.1*H] [expr 0.2*H] [expr 0.3*H] [expr 0.4*H] [expr 0.5*H]} P {[expr 0.5*p] [expr 0.75*p] [expr 1.0*p] [expr 1.25*p] [expr 1.5*p]} {
wipe
node 1 0. 0.
node 2 $L 0.
node 3 0. $H
node 4 $L $H
node 5 0. 0.
node 6 [expr ($L-($l*0.5))] [expr ($H-($h*0.5))]
node 7 [expr ($L-$l)] $H
node 8 $L [expr ($H-$h)]
node 9 [expr ($L-($l*0.5))] [expr ($H-($h*0.5))]
node 10 [expr ($L-$l)] $H
node 11 $L [expr ($H-$h)]
equalDOF 1 5 1 2
equalDOF 6 9 1 2
equalDOF 7 10 1 2
equalDOF 8 11 1 2
equalDOF 3 4 2 3
fix 1 1 1 1
fix 2 1 1 1
set M [expr 1000]
mass 3 [expr $M*L*0.5] 1e-100 1e-100
mass 4 [expr $M*L*0.5] 1e-100 1e-100
set p [expr $M*L*0.5*0.16]
geomTransf Linear 1
set Abc 1.6e-3
set Abrace 1.6e-3
set E 2.1e10
set I 4.92e-6
set Ibrace 4.92e-6
element elasticBeamColumn 1 1 3 $Abc $E $I 1
element elasticBeamColumn 2 2 4 $Abc $E $I 1
element elasticBeamColumn 3 3 4 $Abc $E $I 1
element elasticBeamColumn 4 5 6 $Abrace $E $Ibrace 1
element elasticBeamColumn 5 7 8 $Abrace $E $Ibrace 1
pattern Plain 1 Linear {
load 3 $P 0. 0.
}
pattern Plain 2 Linear {
load 4 $P 0. 0.
}
set pi [expr 2.0*asin(1.0)]
set nEigenI 1
set nEigenJ 2
set lambdaN [eigen [expr $nEigenJ]]
set lambdaI [lindex $lambdaN [expr 0]]
set lambdaJ [lindex $lambdaN [expr $nEigenJ-1]]
set W1 [expr pow($lambdaI,0.5)]
set W2 [expr pow($lambdaJ,0.5)]
set T1 [expr 2.0*$pi/$W1]
set T2 [expr 2.0*$pi/$W2]
puts "T1 = $T1 s"
puts "T2 = $T2 s"
pattern Plain 3 Linear {
load 3 10. 0. 0.
}
recorder display "Kbrace" 500 0 500 500 -wipe
prp 0 0 1
vup 0 1 0
vpn 0 0 1
viewWindow -5 5 -5 5
display 1 5 1
constraints Plain
numberer Plain
system BandGeneral
test EnergyIncr 1.e-10 1000
algorithm KrylovNewton
integrator DisplacementControl 4 1 0.0001
analysis Static
analyze 1000
loadConst -time 0.0
}

help me please
Post Reply