Page 1 of 1

parametric study with more than one cores

Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:36 pm
by Alexandros
hi,
for parametric study with OpenSeesMP if I want to take advantage of more than one core on my machine, each one has 8 processors, do I need any additional commands than those on example from the documentation for OpenSees parallel that follows?

set pid [getPID]
set np [getNP]
set recordsFileID [open "peerRecords.txt" r]
set count 0;
foreach gMotion [split [read $recordsFileID] \n] {
if {[expr $count % $np] == $pid} {
source model.tcl
source analysis.tcl
set ok [doGravity] loadConst -time 0.0
set gMotionList [split $gMotion "/"]
set gMotionDir [lindex $gMotionList end-1]
set gMotionNameInclAT2 [lindex $gMotionList end]
set gMotionName [string range $gMotionNameInclAT2 0 end-4 ]
set Gaccel "PeerDatabase $gMotionDir $gMotionName -accel 384.4 -dT dT -nPts nPts" pattern UniformExcitation 2 1 -accel $Gaccel

recorder EnvelopeNode -file $gMotionDir$gMotionName.out -node 3 4 -dof 1 2 3 disp
doDynamic [expr $dT*$nPts] $dT
if {$ok == 0} {
puts "$gMotionDir $gMotionName OK"
} else {
puts "$gMotionDir $gMotionName FAILED"
} wipe }
incr count 1;
}

If yes can somebody give me an example.
I run my model on 24 processors but take the same time as if it was running on 8.

Re: parametric study with more than one cores

Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:30 pm
by fmk
you need no additional commands .. you just have to start it correctly .. look at the -machinefile
option that comes with mpi

Re: parametric study with more than one cores

Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:08 pm
by Alexandros
thanks for the quick answer Dr. McKenna.
I don't get though why the examples from the handouts http://opensees.berkeley.edu/OpenSees/w ... de0003.htm
are working for single core machines but when I am trying to run them on a double core machine or on our cluster I get the following message:
child killed: unknown signal.

Re: parametric study with more than one cores

Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:00 am
by fmk
you have an mpi problem that you need to solve

Re: parametric study with more than one cores

Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:01 am
by gourik
Hi,

I am trying the same example. But got theerror
establishHTTPConnection - could not connect
httpGet: failed to establis connection
PeerMotion::PeerMotion() - could not connect to PEER Database

i have enabled internet connection for the peer database site ..

Can you please tell me that wether more settings need o be done.
I have allready posted same on message board.

Thanks
Gouri

Re: parametric study with more than one cores

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:26 am
by fmk
i don't know what the problem that you are having is .. for now, i suggest you download the motions directly to your local machine and then modify the script to
run all the motions in a directory.

Re: parametric study with more than one cores

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 11:53 pm
by gourik
Following is the original code which tries to connect to datat base

set Gaccel "PeerDatabase $gMotionDir $gMotionName -accel 384.4 -dT dT -nPts nPts"
pattern UniformExcitation 2 1 -accel $Gaccel

what will be the changed code which will take previously downloaded files.

Re: parametric study with more than one cores

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:59 pm
by fmk
create a time series simlar to the one in this example

http://opensees.berkeley.edu/wiki/index ... e_Analysis

Re: parametric study with more than one cores

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 3:59 pm
by Jettie
Thanks, I had the same question.