Performance of Analyze Command

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
fbeckwit
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 3:23 pm
Location: University of California, San Diego

Performance of Analyze Command

Post by fbeckwit »

Say I build a model and call the analyze command once for at each time step (contained within a while loop; i.e. set ok [analyze 1 $dt]) as opposed to doing it all at once (i.e. set ok [analyze $numSteps $dt]). Assuming everything converges and no other commands are contained within the while loop, is it significantly slower to run the model like this or is it not noticeable at all?

The motivation is that I'm interested in creating a custom recorder that prints iterations and iteration norms via the "puts," "testIter" and "getNorms" commands and my model is already fairly intense computation-wise.

Thanks in advance!
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: Performance of Analyze Command

Post by fmk »

depends on the time taken in an analysis. if it takes a long time then this is not noticable, if it takes a very very short time then it may be. why don't you test it ans see for yourself.
fbeckwit
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 3:23 pm
Location: University of California, San Diego

Re: Performance of Analyze Command

Post by fbeckwit »

Will do, I've been playing around with existing tcl commands to pull the time for a given block to run. I was mostly interested if there was any overhead involved when the analyze command gets called (much like how the CPU has to save an address when a function is called in typical programming). I'll test it out.
mhscott
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:38 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon USA
Contact:

Re: Performance of Analyze Command

Post by mhscott »

Try wrapping the analyze commands with Tcl's built-in [clock clicks] command
Post Reply