quad element: WARNING material not found

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
eidini
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:54 pm

quad element: WARNING material not found

Post by eidini »

Hi,
I have modeled a beam element connected to a quad element. I think I need to put two model commands (I am not sure though), one at the beginning of the code for defining the beam element, and the other one before defining the quad element. Although the quad element is defined correctly, I received a warning saying “the material not found”!
Could you please let me know what might cause the problem?

Thank you in advance!


# Test ######################
wipe;
model basic -ndm 2 -ndf 3;

geomTransf Linear 1;

# Nodes
node 1 0 0
node 2 10 0

node 3 0 10
node 4 10 10

node 5 20 10

# Restraints
fix 1 1 1 1
fix 2 1 1 1

# Beam element
set inertia 626
set area 10

element elasticBeamColumn 1 4 5 $area 29000 $inertia 1


# Quad element
set Em 1350
set vm 0.2;
set rhom 2.098e-7
set elemtype "PlaneStress"

nDMaterial ElasticIsotropic 2 $Em $vm $rhom

model basic -ndm 2 -ndf 2;
puts "Begin Modelling Wall "

element quad 2 1 2 4 3 7.6 $elemtype 2
eidini
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:54 pm

Re: quad element: WARNING material not found

Post by eidini »

Seems like the source of the error is because of using 2 model commands. After removing the beam element the model works. Now my question is how can I model a beam element connected to a quad element?

Thanks in advance!
vesna
Posts: 3033
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 11:23 am
Location: UC Berkeley

Re: quad element: WARNING material not found

Post by vesna »

To model a beam element connected to the quad element just issue 2 model commands. After one model command build the model for the beam (nodes, materials, constraints, elements, load patterns), after the other build the model for the quad element (nodes, materials, constraints, elements, load patterns).

When you are done tie connecting nodes from the 2 models with the equalDOF command.

In your example you were using nodes defined in domain -ndm 2 -ndf 3 to build quad element in domain -ndm 2 -ndf 2 which is not correct.
Post Reply