ran out of memory / deallocation in c++

For developers writing C++, Fortran, Java, code who have questions or comments to make.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
eroz
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 7:47 am
Location: San Francisco

ran out of memory / deallocation in c++

Post by eroz »

I had the following problem and posted it to the users forum because I thaught it had something to do with the Tcl code of the way I was running the sequence of my earthquakes:
Running a sequence of earthquakes consecutively and recording some data.

Got the following error message after the third earthquake:

WARNING BandGenLinSOE::BandGenLinSOE : ran out of memory for A (size,super,sub) (1110, 905, 905)

I know it should be possible to analyze many earthquakes consecutively, hence couldn`t figure out what this is about. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
I figured out the problem and wanted to share it here as it might be of use to others in the future. The problem was memory leakage in the C++ code of the new zero-length element I developed. Memory leakage is what happens when you forget to free a block of memory allocated with the new operator or when you make it impossible to do so. The problem was solved when I deallocated the unnecessary memory. So, heads up people...
amber22v
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 8:13 pm
Location: Virginia Tech

Re: ran out of memory / deallocation in c++

Post by amber22v »

Hello,
Can you tell me how did you fix this problem of running out of memory. I have a TCL routine and I keep getting this error:

WARNING BandGenLinSOE::BandGenLinSOE : ran out of memory for A (size,super,sub) (19986, 6659, 6659)
StaticAnalysis::handle() - LinearSOE::setSize() failedStaticAnalysis::analyze() - domainChanged failed at step 0 of 1
OpenSees > analyze failed, returned: -1 error flag

Can you give me some guidance that how you solved this problem ?

Thank You
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: ran out of memory / deallocation in c++

Post by fmk »

you have a large model .. you need to use a sparse solver, try Umfpack
Post Reply