help on debugging the OpenSees with my source code

For developers writing C++, Fortran, Java, code who have questions or comments to make.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
GunAndRose
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

help on debugging the OpenSees with my source code

Post by GunAndRose »

I am trying to add one new project into OpenSees and debugging them in with other opensees projects.

I am having a problem in stopping at my project since the debugger will step over the following source code

code = Tcl_RecordAndEvalObj(interp, commandPtr, 0);

in "tclMain.cpp" in OpenSees project.

I am assuming that I could not step into Tcl_RecordAndEvalObj. But is there any chance I can stop at my source code?

Thanks.

Stan
Stan
Graduate Student
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX
aneeman
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:13 pm
Contact:

Post by aneeman »

You could put

exit(0);

any place, maybe printing a comment first?

alisa
GunAndRose
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by GunAndRose »

Hey, thanks for your reply.

Could you please be more specific? I am new in debugging the OpenSees codes.

Yes, I can print the comment within the source code when I fully compile them under release config. But is there any way to step into/stop at the opensees source codes anywhere I want?

The reason I am asking is that I could only stop at "tclMain.cpp" no matter how hard I tried to step into the other projects.

Thanks.


aneeman wrote:You could put

exit(0);

any place, maybe printing a comment first?

alisa
Stan
Graduate Student
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Post by fmk »

you need to learn how to use your debugger .. i will assume you are using vc++ .. so here is a start,

1) load up OpenSees solution in vc++
2) make sure that the Debug version is going to
be built and opensees is the selected project.
3)build the executable.
4) add the breakpoints, i.e. open a file you want,
go to the method you want to put the breakpoint in, use ctrl-F5 (or select add break point from the debug pull down menu)

a screen will pop up asking what methods to put
brak point in, select ones you want

5) then select start from debug pull down menu.

use contine, step into, step over till you are done debugging.
GunAndRose
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by GunAndRose »

Thanks, Frank.

Things are really weird. Before I read your message. I couldn't debug although I followed the same procedures. But after you posted the reply, things got perfect as I expected.

Is it God helping me or was I debugging a different cpp file that would never be reached for the tcl file I input for opensees?





fmk wrote:you need to learn how to use your debugger .. i will assume you are using vc++ .. so here is a start,

1) load up OpenSees solution in vc++
2) make sure that the Debug version is going to
be built and opensees is the selected project.
3)build the executable.
4) add the breakpoints, i.e. open a file you want,
go to the method you want to put the breakpoint in, use ctrl-F5 (or select add break point from the debug pull down menu)

a screen will pop up asking what methods to put
brak point in, select ones you want

5) then select start from debug pull down menu.

use contine, step into, step over till you are done debugging.
Stan
Graduate Student
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX
Post Reply