MP constraint error

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
talebian.s.e
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:05 am
Location: Griffith University

MP constraint error

Post by talebian.s.e »

Dear Dr.Mazzoni

after running my model this error occurs:

when I use equalDOF command this error occurs:



Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelJoint2D::addMP_Joint - WARNING could not add equalDOF MP_Constraint to domai
n WARNING Joint2D::Joint2D(): can not generate ForJoint MP at node 1
Domain::addElement - element with tag 40already exists in model



and when I use rigidlink command this occurs:




Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag1already exists in m
odelRigidRod::RigidRod - for nodes 57 and 1 could not add to domain
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag2already exists in m
odelRigidRod::RigidRod - for nodes 58 and 2 could not add to domain
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag3already exists in m
odelRigidRod::RigidRod - for nodes 59 and 3 could not add to domain
Domain::addMP_Constraint - cannot add as constraint with tag4already exists in m
odelRigidRod::RigidRod - for nodes 60 and 4 could not add to domain
WARNING: CTestNormDispIncr::test() - failed to converge
after: 6 iterations
NewtnRaphson::solveCurrentStep() -the ConvergenceTest object failed in test()
StaticAnalysis::analyze() - the Algorithm failed at iteration: 0 with domain at
load factor 0.1
OpenSees > analyze failed, returned: -3 error flag


I couldn't solve this problem.

would u please help me?
talebian.s.e
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:05 am
Location: Griffith University

help

Post by talebian.s.e »

Dear Dr Mazzoni

please help me.
I have become dissapointed.
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Post by fmk »

need to see your model .. if it is small post it, otherwise email it to me. if there are more than 2 files, put in in a .zip or .tar and mail it to me.
talebian.s.e
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:05 am
Location: Griffith University

Post by talebian.s.e »

ok.
Last edited by talebian.s.e on Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
silvia
Posts: 3909
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia »

please research this forum, someone has had this kind of problem already.
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104
modir24
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:58 am
Location: kelowna

Post by modir24 »

the problem is with the joint2D. if you eliminate the joint2D and make the 4 nodes around every joint only 1 the problem will be solved ! this may change your model completely though ! this is the same problem I have with the Joint2D and is driving me nuts. I have not found any solution to Joint2D in this forum :(
talebian.s.e
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:05 am
Location: Griffith University

Post by talebian.s.e »

thanks
talebian.s.e
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:05 am
Location: Griffith University

How to calculate period at each step of pushover analysis?

Post by talebian.s.e »

Dear Silvia

I need to determine period at each step of pushover analysis. I just can calculate the period at the beginning and at the end of pushover analysis. Would you please help me how to calculate the period at each step during the pushover analysis?
I use the following algorithm for determining period:

set lambda [eigen 1];
set PI [expr 2*asin(1.0)];
set omega [expr pow($lambda,0.5)]
set Tperiod [expr 2*$PI/$omega]; # period (sec.)
puts "Fundamental Period= $Tperiod sec"
puts ""

and I use the following pattern to perform pushover analysis:



set Dmax [expr 0.05*$LBuilding ]; # maximum displacement of pushover. push to 10% drift.
set Dincr [expr 0.001*$LBuilding ]; # displacement increment. you want this to be small, but not too small to slow analysis

# -- STATIC PUSHOVER/CYCLIC ANALYSIS
# create load pattern for lateral pushover load coefficient when using linear load pattern


pattern Plain 200 Linear { # define load pattern
load 5 $Fj1 0 0
load 9 $Fj2 0 0
load 13 $Fj3 0 0
load 17 $Fj4 0 0
load 21 $Fj5 0 0

}; # end load pattern

# ----------- set up analysis parameters
set Tol 1.0e-4; # convergence tolerance for test
constraints Transformation; # how it handles boundary conditions
numberer RCM; # renumber dof's to minimize band-width (optimization), if you want to
system BandGeneral ; # how to store and solve the system of equations in the analysis (large model: try UmfPack)
test NormDispIncr $Tol 20 ; # determine if convergence has been achieved at the end of an iteration step
algorithm Newton ; # use Newton's solution algorithm: updates tangent stiffness at every iteration
integrator DisplacementControl $IDctrlNode $IDctrlDOF $Dincr;
analysis Static
# --------------------------------- perform Static Pushover Analysis
set Nsteps [expr int($Dmax/$Dincr)]; # number of pushover analysis steps
set ok [analyze $Nsteps]; # this will return zero if no convergence problems were encountered
set fmt1 "%s Pushover analysis: CtrlNode %.3i, dof %.1i, Disp=%.4f %s"; # format for screen/file output of DONE/PROBLEM analysis
if {$ok != 0} {
# if analysis fails, we try some other stuff, performance is slower inside this loop
set Dstep 0.0;
set ok 0
while {$Dstep <= 1.0 && $ok == 0} {
set controlDisp [nodeDisp $IDctrlNode $IDctrlDOF ]
set Dstep [expr $controlDisp/$Dmax]
set ok [analyze 1 ]
# if analysis fails, we try some other stuff
# performance is slower inside this loop global maxNumIterStatic; # max no. of iterations performed before "failure to converge" is ret'd
if {$ok != 0} {
puts "Trying Newton with Initial Tangent .."
test NormDispIncr $Tol 2000 0
algorithm Newton -initial
set ok [analyze 1]
test NormDispIncr $Tol 500 0
algorithm Newton
}
if {$ok != 0} {
puts "Trying Broyden .."
algorithm Broyden 8
set ok [analyze 1 ]
algorithm Newton
}
if {$ok != 0} {
puts "Trying NewtonWithLineSearch .."
algorithm NewtonLineSearch 0.8
set ok [analyze 1]
algorithm Newton
}

}; # end while loop
}; # end if ok !0

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
if {$ok != 0 } {
puts [format $fmt1 "PROBLEM" $IDctrlNode $IDctrlDOF [nodeDisp $IDctrlNode $IDctrlDOF] "milimeter"]
} else {
puts [format $fmt1 "DONE" $IDctrlNode $IDctrlDOF [nodeDisp $IDctrlNode $IDctrlDOF] "milimeter" ]
}


I am waiting for your leading advice.
mouadluffy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:19 am
Location: UAE

Re: MP constraint error

Post by mouadluffy »

i have a problem in executing opensees navigator , i have followed all the steps in the model in youtube but i have this message when i run opensees:
########################
# Analysis-Sequence 1 #
########################
RigidDiaphragm::RigidDiaphragm - ignoring constrained Node 6, not in xy plane
RigidDiaphragm::RigidDiaphragm - ignoring constrained Node 13, not in xy plane
RigidDiaphragm::RigidDiaphragm - ignoring constrained Node 10, not in xy plane
RigidDiaphragm::RigidDiaphragm - ignoring constrained Node 14, not in xy plane
SectionForceDeformation *getSectionForceDeformation(int tag) - none found with tag: 4
WARNING section does not exist
section: 4
section Aggregator: 2

Time elapsed = 6.197479
please help me !
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: MP constraint error

Post by fmk »

well look at the output files created and see if a section 4 is created
Post Reply