curvature in 3D model
Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:31 pm
- Location: Babol Noshirvani University of Technology
curvature in 3D model
Hello All,
I have modeled a 2 spans bridge in 3D space. I used nonlinearbeamcolumn element for columns.
I'm wanna capture the curvature of column. I used the following commands:
recorder Element -file $dataDir/curvature.out -time -ele 1111 section 1 deformation;
When I open the output file I see 5 column. the first column shows time. But I don't know which of other 4 columns give curvature.
Is there anyone help me to find the column corresponding with curvature?
I have modeled a 2 spans bridge in 3D space. I used nonlinearbeamcolumn element for columns.
I'm wanna capture the curvature of column. I used the following commands:
recorder Element -file $dataDir/curvature.out -time -ele 1111 section 1 deformation;
When I open the output file I see 5 column. the first column shows time. But I don't know which of other 4 columns give curvature.
Is there anyone help me to find the column corresponding with curvature?
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:31 pm
- Location: Babol Noshirvani University of Technology
Re: curvature in 3D model
Is there someone to be able to me?
-
- Posts: 916
- Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:50 pm
- Location: University of California, Berkeley
Re: curvature in 3D model
You can try to use <-xml $fileName> to see the headers.
If that does not work please use elastic materials and you can figure out the columns by comparing them with theoretical equations.
If that does not work please use elastic materials and you can figure out the columns by comparing them with theoretical equations.
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:31 pm
- Location: Babol Noshirvani University of Technology
Re: curvature in 3D model
Thank you Selimgunay. It worked.
I recorded using -xml $fileName. So I had the following headers:
xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation = "http://OpenSees.berkeley.edu/xml-schema ... enSees.xsd">
<ElementOutput eleType="ForceBeamColumn3d" eleTag="81" node1="82" node2="83">
<GaussPointOutput number="1" eta="-1">
<SectionOutput secType="SectionAggregator" secTag="1">
<ResponseType>eps</ResponseType>
<ResponseType>kappaZ</ResponseType>
<ResponseType>kappaY</ResponseType>
<ResponseType>theta</ResponseType>
</SectionOutput>
</GaussPointOutput>
</ElementOutput>
Now my problem is that, I don't know kappayY is curvature around golbal y or local one?
I recorded using -xml $fileName. So I had the following headers:
xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation = "http://OpenSees.berkeley.edu/xml-schema ... enSees.xsd">
<ElementOutput eleType="ForceBeamColumn3d" eleTag="81" node1="82" node2="83">
<GaussPointOutput number="1" eta="-1">
<SectionOutput secType="SectionAggregator" secTag="1">
<ResponseType>eps</ResponseType>
<ResponseType>kappaZ</ResponseType>
<ResponseType>kappaY</ResponseType>
<ResponseType>theta</ResponseType>
</SectionOutput>
</GaussPointOutput>
</ElementOutput>
Now my problem is that, I don't know kappayY is curvature around golbal y or local one?
-
- Posts: 916
- Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:50 pm
- Location: University of California, Berkeley
Re: curvature in 3D model
It is around the local y axis of the section
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:31 pm
- Location: Babol Noshirvani University of Technology
Re: curvature in 3D model
selimgunay wrote:
> It is around the local y axis of the section
Thank you so much.
> It is around the local y axis of the section
Thank you so much.
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:31 pm
- Location: Babol Noshirvani University of Technology
Re: curvature in 3D model
Final question.
The base of columns in my model is fixed. So we expect the curvature in that region is equal zero. But when I recorded curvature in the element including support node (fixed base node) the value of max curvature is about 0.04 1/m while it should be zero. Actually the used element is nonlinearbeamcolumn with 5 np. When I record the curvature in section 1 it is about 0.04 but for section 5 it is about 0.00003 but I thought it should be zero. Is this result correct?
Thanks.
The base of columns in my model is fixed. So we expect the curvature in that region is equal zero. But when I recorded curvature in the element including support node (fixed base node) the value of max curvature is about 0.04 1/m while it should be zero. Actually the used element is nonlinearbeamcolumn with 5 np. When I record the curvature in section 1 it is about 0.04 but for section 5 it is about 0.00003 but I thought it should be zero. Is this result correct?
Thanks.
-
- Posts: 916
- Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:50 pm
- Location: University of California, Berkeley
Re: curvature in 3D model
At the fixed location, the rotation is zero, however the curvature is not zero. It looks like your column is a cantilever column, so at the top your curvature will be zero. Depending on the integration method that you are using the integration point might not be exactly at the top of the node.