MVLEM

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
schoolstru
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 2:18 am
Location: IIEES

MVLEM

Post by schoolstru »

Hello Dear
i want to ask is element MVLEM command is only for 2-D modelling? because i used it in 3-D modelling (-ndm 3 -ndf 6) and this message appeared " 2 coords required at nodes, not enough provided for element"; thank you for your answer in advance.
Toutant
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:33 am
Location: École Polytechnique de Montréal

Re: MVLEM

Post by Toutant »

I think you are right, it only works for 2-D elements.

From OpenSees wiki:
The MVLEM element command is used to generate a two-dimensional Multiple-Vertical-Line-Element-Model (MVLEM; Vulcano et al., 1988; Orakcal et al., 2004, Kolozvari et al., 2015) for simulation of flexure-dominated RC wall behavior.

From the source code:
// Calculate the element height and perform checks
if (end1Crd.Size() != 2 && end2Crd.Size() != 2) {
opserr << "MVLEM::setDomain(): 2 coords required at nodes, not enough provided for element " << this->getTag();
exit(-1);
}

Basically if you i and j-node have anything other than 2 coordinates, the element will print this error.
Post Reply