it can be worked

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
jyokou
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 7:01 am
Location: kumamotodaigaku

it can be worked

Post by jyokou »

Hello,everybody.
I have just tried to use the zerolength element to simulate a rotation friction damper.
But I don't know why it can not be worked.

WARNING BandGenLinLapackSolver::solve() -LAPACK routine returned 8
DisplacementControl::newStep(void) - failed in solver
StaticAnalysis::analyze() - the Integrator failed at iteration: 0 with domain at load factor 0
OpenSees > analyze failed, returned: -2 error flag -2


model BasicBuilder -ndm 2 -ndf 3

node 1 0 0
node 2 0 1000
node 3 0 1000
node 4 0 2000

fix 1 1 1 1

geomTransf Linear 1

element elasticBeamColumn 1 1 2 373.7 205000 141000 1
element elasticBeamColumn 2 3 4 373.7 205000 141000 1

uniaxialMaterial Steel01 12 800 10e10 10e-7

element zeroLength 3 2 3 -mat 12 -dir 3

pattern Plain 1 Linear {
load 4 1 0 0
}
constraints Plain;
numberer Plain;
system BandGeneral;
test NormDispIncr 1.0e-6 200;
algorithm Newton;
integrator DisplacementControl 4 1 0.1;
analysis Static;
analyze 100;
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: it can be worked

Post by fmk »

because there is still some rigid bod modes, translational dof nodes 3 and 4.
jyokou
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 7:01 am
Location: kumamotodaigaku

Re: it can be worked

Post by jyokou »

fmk wrote:
> because there is still some rigid bod modes, translational dof nodes 3 and 4.

you mean that the translational dof nodes 3 and 4 have been constrained.
I'm a beginner, could you please make it correctly for me?
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: it can be worked

Post by fmk »

you will learn more if you fix the problem
bahramabdollahi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 6:32 am
Location: Iran

Re: it can be worked

Post by bahramabdollahi »

hi jyokou
here is your code
by the way you can fix the problem by adding the " rigidLink " command between 2 and 3 nodes
wipe
wipeAnalysis

model BasicBuilder -ndm 2 -ndf 3

node 1 0 0
node 2 0 1000
node 3 0 1000
node 4 0 2000

fix 1 1 1 1
rigidLink beam 2 3
geomTransf Linear 1

element elasticBeamColumn 1 1 2 373.7 205000 141000 1
element elasticBeamColumn 2 3 4 373.7 205000 141000 1

uniaxialMaterial Steel01 12 800 10e10 10e-7

element zeroLength 3 2 3 -mat 12 -dir 3
recorder Node -file Displacement.out -time -node 2 -dof 1 disp
recorder Node -file React.out -time -node 1 -dof 1 reaction
pattern Plain 1 Linear {
load 4 1 0 0
}
constraints Plain ;
numberer Plain ;
system BandGeneral ;
test NormDispIncr 1.0e-6 200;
algorithm Newton ;
integrator DisplacementControl 4 1 0.1;
analysis Static ;
analyze 100 ;

good luck
Post Reply